Friday, February 10, 2012

Mac OSX Lion - Safe for networks at last?

Back in July we installed Mac OSX Lion on the machines of the IT staff to evaluate for use at HDC. It didn't take long before we discovered an absolute show stopper: Using files on network volumes almost guaranteed dataloss with Lion. Read my first report, and then the followup (with video) if you need a refresher on what was happening.

With the release of 10.7.3 it is now safe to allow people to use Lion on your network without worrying about them inadvertently destroying files on your server. There is a new dialog box that looks like this:


This is a lot better, in that now a user can click one button (revert) and have it put everything back the way it was and quit the program. My only complaint is that "Do not show this message again" only works for "OK" which is the worst possible choice (OK destroys the data forever).

Is this a fix? Not really, but it's a big step forward. At least the user has the opportunity to intervene without wiping out the data, and can actually get out of the program with the click of one button.

Now if they could only fix the rest of the problems...

Joel

1 comment:

Armor and Sword said...

So is this fix you are hoping for in Mountain Lion?